Speaker Date Topic
Andy Borland Oct 11, 2022

Andy Borland is the executive director of Scales Corporation, a NZ diversified Agribusiness Scales Group.

A Southlander, he started as a merchandise clerk at J E Watson & Co.

He has an enormous wealth of knowledge and experience in New Zealand’s agribusiness sector and equally in banking and finance.

He was recently appointed chairman of the Rabobank Board after being a director since 2016.


Jason McKenzie Oct 18, 2022
2022 Commonwealth Games
2022 Commonwealth Games

I am a passionate Southlander. I spent 10 year as a secondary school teacher, school counsellor and working in private practice as a counsellor. In the past seventeen years I have worked in High Performance sport in Athlete Life and Mental Skills roles (from talent development to elite) with a focus on wellbeing, personal development, and performance skills. I enjoy working with athletes to manage the pressures of life and performance

Current roles

  • NZOC Psychology team for Birmingham Commonwealth Games 2022
  • Manager of the Academy Southland Program
  • Personal Development manager for STAGs
  • Mental Skills coach for Super Rugby Aotearoa referees

Recent Roles

  • NZ Olympic Psychology team for Tokyo 2020
  • Mental Skills coach for Referees and Rugby World Cup 2019
  • Mental Skills and Athlete Life Southern Steel
  • NZOC psychology role at Youth Olympics in 2018

Governance experience

  • Invercargill Licensing Trust Foundation – 7 years and current
  • James Hargest College – 9 year sand current
  • Waihopai Primary school – 6 years


Our Speakers this year Dec 31, 2022

Our Club would like to thank all of our speakers who have given their time to come to Rotary and educate members about a lot of different groups and topics. 

2022 Guest Speakers (this list will be updated throughout the year)
Tracy Kilkelly and Braden Stark
Sheree carey
Rachel Hucklebridge
Terry Nicholas
Joc O'Donnell
Sean Plunket
Brooke Hart
John Munro
Sam Payne
Judge John Brandts-Giesen
2021 Guest Speakers
John Green
Kate Pope
Dr Teri McClelland
Dr Agata Golawska Moody
Robin McNeill
Wayne Marriott
Ella Zhang
Chris Claridge
Nobby Clark
Rakihia Tau
Mark McLean
Jeff Grant
2020 Guest Speakers
DG Tania Lowery and John Prendergast
Dave McKissock
Lydia Uddstrom
Rebecca Amunsden
Leon Hartnett
Paddy O'Brien
Louise Evans
Covid-19 Reflections: Geoff Thomson, Mata Cherington, Tony Laker, Toni Biddle.
Liz Craig
Dylan Murray
Liv Cochrane
Melissa Vining
2019 Guest Speakers
Diana McLean
Carla Forbes
Dr Anna Palliser
Helen McCurdy
Lisa Tou McNaughton
Ken Bowie
Pauline and Mike 
Alan Watson
2018 Guest Speakers
Liz Craig
Scott Bowden
Sir Graeme Dingle
Joe Anderson
Scott McKenzie
Zoe Dawson
Claire Bau
Chris Ramsay
Laura Faherty
David Grant
Rebecca Shirley
Paul Marshall
Helene O'Neil